Magazine Covers Production Project

DSC_2077-20jpgSo, for a recent production project at University I decided to look at magazines and how they are designed and produced with specific genders in mind. I looked at two popular magazines – one aimed at males and one aimed at females. I know I could have created my own magazines and the design of them would have been completely down to me but, I wanted them to be as authentic as possible and this way people can relate directly to the product.

I did a lot of research into the two magazines I would be creating covers for – GQ for men and Vogue for women, so I could match the tone of the articles featured on the covers, DSC_2029-1the fonts and colours used and the style of the images used as well. I took original stills using myself and my Man as models for each of the covers and layered article ideas and the magazine names over the top.

I kept both images in black and white, with the female emanating ideas of simplicity, purity and femininity (even if I do say so myself!) and the male representing strength, power and masculinity – as is typical within mainstream media.

It was finicky and a pain in the ass sometimes, but with a lot of patience and a lot of breaks to stop me smashing the keyboard, the end result was exactly what I was aiming for!

For those of you who might be wondering, I took the images with a Nikon D7100 then imported and edited them slightly using Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop, I then saved them as simple JPEG’s before opening them separately and adding the magazine design piece by piece – starting with the names and working down from there. Granted, positioning everything properly and fighting for control against my OCD wasn’t always easy, but I got there in the end!

Magazine Covers

On the whole I really enjoyed the project and I’m thinking about doing another one but maybe shake up the status quo a little bit by creating designs that challenge certain representations. For now though, I’ve talked enough! For my photography and projects from me, check out the links at the bottom of any page on my blog and they’ll send you to my various social media pages. Thanks all!

 

Leave a Reply

