25 Songs, 25 Days: Day 15

Todays one is another difficult post for me. I hope I’ve made it clear already that I love music. I love listening to it. And I love singing along to it. Hell a lot of the time I sing and I don’t even have any music to sing to. If I’m at my PC then I’ll whack on my headset and crank up the volume on Youtube or iTunes. If I’m in the shower and around the house without any music playing from a TV or an iPod dock then obviously I can’t turn the music up but I can still sing just as loud. My neighbours probably hate me. Singing that loud with my windows wide open probably sounds like I’m in here trying to cool down by swinging a cat around. Not everybody appreciates music though I guess.

So I hope you can see that, it’s hard to choose todays song because, no matter how terrible I might be, I love to sing. Whether I have music or not, I sing in the shower, in the kitchen, in the car, at work,pretty much constantly really. Music wouldn’t hold the same appeal to me if I couldn’t sing along with it. And, if I know the lyrics to a song – whether it’s two of them or all of them, then I will sing them.

Day 15 then is, of course: A song you love singing along to.

I could go for the obvious and just pick one of my favourite songs but, I feel like I’ve covered quite a few of those already, some of my favourite bands etc. Singing along to a certain song and really enjoying it, is different to really enjoying the band or song itself. Some songs I enjoy singing along to because the song is in the right key for me to be able to sing it within my range of the notes I can attempt to hit. So it’s easy to say that this song won’t be a Beyonce song cause not many people can sing them. I know I said that I probably sound pretty terrible but I like to at least make an effort and, let’s face it, no matter how hard I try, I’ll never sound like Beyonce. However, it has to be said that sometimes it’s nice to belt it out.

So, out of all the songs I could pick, I’ve made up my mind.

I love this song. A lot of people find it irritating but I just love it. Singing along to it makes me feel cheeky and daft and girly. It’s fun and a bit flirty and lots of fun. The lyrics are really great and, there should be more songs like this. I could have chosen anything by Ed Sheeran, Sinead O’Connor, musicals like Notre Dame or even a bit of Mulan or Frozen, some Biffy Clyro or the Killers but no, I’m going with this!

Leave a Reply

