25 Songs, 25 Days: Day 14

That’s it, we’re officially over half way through this challenge now and on to probably the easiest Day – for me anyway. No thinking or deciding necessary for today’s post, other than how I’m gonna word it.

Soooo down to business with Day 14 which is: A song that reminds you of your boyfriend/girlfriend.

‘We will be who we are’. A relationship is about being yourself but, doing so with somebody else. Making somebody happy but not losing who you are to a relationship is extremely important. The song Learn Me Right is a beautiful song about being yourself, from a movie about being yourself – Brave. Me and the Man watched this movie together a while back and decided that the song from it should be ‘our song’, since before we watched the movie we didn’t have one and we both really liked it. I knew the song before seeing the movie which confused him to no end since I was singing along to it at the end.

The reason I love this song is two-fold. Firstly, it’s basically a pre-cursor for a song by Mumford and Sons which was released on their latest album (a few years back now!) called Not With Haste. They created this song with Birdy and loved it so much they recorded it themselves, altered the lyrics a bit and added it to Babel. Since Mumford and Sons are my favourite band, it’s obvious that I should love this song, I know they aren’t singing it but, they did write it and Birdy lends herself really well to the lyrics and links with the movie since she’s Scottish herself.

Secondly, I said before about it being a song that highlights the need to be yourself, to fulfill your dreams and be happy and free. Being in a relationship with the right person allows you to do these things. I like to think me and the Man help each other be ourselves, free each other to be who we should be and support each other in order to fulfill our dreams together – just as any relationship should.

So that’s it from me for today, I’m sure you’re all about ready to puke after all this soppiness!

Leave a Reply

