25 Songs, 25 Days: Day 7

Hello again folks and I hope you are all having/have had a marvelous day! I’ve been at this challenge for a week now and I’m loving it so far so I hope you guys are enjoying reading it. Today it’s time for some summer lovin’ – no it’s not another song from Grease don’t worry…

Day 7 is… drum roll please: A song that reminds you of the past summer.

So in my case I’m writing about summer 2013 – a very different summer from this years I think. In June 2013 I finished college, I didn’t have a boyfriend or anything since I’d been single for a couple of years and I was planning on heading off to my local university in the September. However, circumstances change and after getting back from my 2 week summer holiday abroad last year I had a change of heart about university – I still wanted to go to my local one but, not for another year, which would have been September of this year. Obviously I’m now going to Sheffield into September instead since I met the Mister and my plans changed again!

Anyway, I spent a lot of my time last summer spending some much needed time with myself. After all those months of stressing and grafting a college – particularly the last few, I was really ready to kick back and relax. I got out as much as possible, enjoyed the nice weather we had, cleaned the house from top to bottom and listened to a LOT of music. Since I take my iPod everywhere I’d head out for a lovely walk in the great outdoors and listen to 2-3 hours of music at the same time. I only usually listen to the radio if I’m in the car and since I don’t drive, it’s not very often anymore, just when I’m with the ‘rents.

So last summer this song came out by Avicii and it was one of the catchiest and coolest songs I’d heard for ages, I listened to it on repeat for weeks and weeks and it stayed popular for a long time. It’s definitely a real, feel good song with a nice rhythm and fun lyrics, very summery and dancey!

There you have it then, that was the soundtrack to my summer 2013 – sorry about all the back story but I think it’s important to paint a picture and to explain how I came to listen to that song so much and why. At that time I felt like if somebody could, “Wake me up when it’s all over, when I’m wiser and I’m older.” It would be much easier than deciding and then changing my mind again later on!

Leave a Reply

