Toy Story Marathon

So today I was looking through my Sky box at what I had recorded and not seen. Since I spend most of my time at my Mans house, I tend to bulk record things when I am at home but then don’t watch them cause I’m not here. Over Christmas I recorded a whole bunch of stuff but didn’t watch it so I’m still getting through those movies and programmes on the days when I’m at home. I noticed that I’d recorded Toy Story 3 but never watched it and since I haven’t seen the other movies for ages and I’ve not been feeling so good today, I decided to take it easy and spend most of my day on the sofa, with blankets, just relaxing and watching the 3 movies back to back.

It’s amazing to think that the first Toy Story movie came out waaaay back in 1995 – I was only 3 and don’t remember it being released or anything – I don’t even remember the sequel being released and that was in 1999 when I was 7. As a franchise it’s been hugely successful – spanning across two decades from 1995 to 2010. It’s featured some of the greatest actors as voices for the animated characters in the movies such as Tom Hanks and Tim Allen. Before the release of Frozen a couple of months ago, Toy Story 3 was the highest grossing Disney movie ever.

The Toy Story moviesΒ brings alive the imaginations of children – even now I watch the movie and imagine my toys coming to life. Being 21 I don’t have many any more but, I have some teddy bears in my room and I bet they have a right riot when I’m not there. These thoughts feed on the fact that children see their toys as alive, they give them voices and personalities, designate them as ‘goodies’ or ‘badies’ and use them to act out little scenarios. Even now I couldn’t pick up one of my old teddy bears from my childhood and throw it across the room – it might hurt him… or her.

Watching these movies now as an adult doesn’t take away the wonder that I felt when I saw them as a child, it just reminds me of those times, making a swimming pool out of a blue t-shirt, assembling all of my toys and creating a holiday camp, giving them public transport by using toy cars and trains, planning elaborate escape plans so I could raid the fridge for chocolate and then blame the toys when I got caught.

So far we haven’t heard whether the franchise will continue – since the end of Toy Story 3 is pretty final – for the story of Andy and his toys anyway (I won’t give away anymore than this for those who haven’t see it yet!). However, there might be a new adventure in store for Buzz, Woody and the rest of the gang – we’ll have to wait and see!

Leave a Reply

