My Bucket List

So. I’ve done it. I’ve written myself a bucket list. I saw a post made last year by one of my favourite bloggers and it gave me the nudge I needed to write my own. This is of course an edited version for my blog – some things are best kept to myself!

I haven’t numbered my list. Numbers tend to denote some sort of order or rank of importance. Everything on this list is important to me.

So from the straightforward to complex

To the completely mad,

These are my aspirations.

These are my dreams.

  • Buy a house and turn it into a home
  • Dabble in property development
  • Live in France
  • Build my family tree
  • Have a wall in my home dedicated to my favourite quotes
  • Win a contest 
  • Learn to shoot with a bow and arrow
  • Ride a horse
  • Write a childrens book
  • Own my own cat or dog
  • Open a small bookstore and boutique
  • Take a sign language class
  • Take photography classes
  • Learn to waltz
  • Open a tea and cake shop in France that’s British and lovely
  • Go ice skating with a man on one of those outdoor rinks that American cities have during the Christmas holidays and then drink hot chocolate under a blanket
  • Write in my diary every day for a whole year
  • Be paid to do what I love
  • Use my writing to help others in some way
  • Write a book that people want to read
  • Cycle from John O’Groats to Lands’ End – even if takes a whole year
  • Live in a motorhome and travel around the whole of Europe
  • Make a work of art for my home – a picture, sculpture or painting
  • Drink a cocktail on the beach at sunset
  • See a volcano
  • Visit Royan again – my favourite place in the world
  • Take a photograph of lightning
  • Stay in the Penthouse of a really tall hotel
  • Make a quilt
  • Have a dream that’s in colour
  • Have my own cottage garden – complete with a swing, fountains and beautiful wildflowers
  • Be able to see the ocean from my bed when I wake up
  • See a shooting star
  • Go snowboarding
  • Have a food fight
  • Go to the Proms at the Royal Albert Hall
  • See orchestral/classical music live
  • Make a personalised calendar
  • Have a bonfire on the beach
  • Get a degree
  • Take a creative writing course
  • Jump up and down on a really bouncy bed
  • See a meteor shower
  • Witness the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights)
  • Have a spa weekend
  • See the Pyramids
  • Use a telescope to see the stars and another planet
  • Learn how to fly a plane
  • Visit a falconry and hold a huge bird of prey
  • Visit Greenwich
  • Stand with one foot in one country and the other foot in a different country
  • See an eclipse
  • Plant a tree and see it grow over time
  • Create a time-lapse video
  • Go on a shopping trip that I actually enjoy
  • Drive some very amazing and expensive cars – Aston Martins, Corvettes etc
  • Received 100 smiles, waves or beeps from 100 strangers in 1 day
  • Go camping in my own back garden
  • See real snow – each beautiful individual flake that ends up being very deep
  • Visit hundreds of museums – Musée d’Orsay, Natural History Museum etc
  • Buy the perfect, snuggly, over-sized jumper
  • Go to a masked ball
  • Grow oranges and make my own orange juice
  • Make my own lemonade in a huge pitcher with lots of ice and fresh lemon slices
  • Experience zero gravity
  • Visit the Smithsonian
  • Go to the top of the Empire State Building
  • Swim with tropical fish
  • Go on a road trip (across the US or Europe)
  • Ride in a helicopter
  • See some more live concerts
  • Go in the cockpit of an airliner (Airbus A380)
  • See a rocket launch
  • See the International Space Station in orbit 
  • Get to university
  • Present a documentary
  • See a comedian live
  • Go in a hot air balloon
  • Get a masters degree
  • Live on a canal barge/narrow boat for a few months and travel around the waterways
  • Reach 100 likes on my Facebook photography page
  • Reach 1000 views on a photo on my Flickr page.
  • Get a First for a university assignment
  • Plan a surprise (party maybe?) for somebody
  • Have a photo on Flickr Explore section
  • See Mumford and Sons Live in concert
One thought on “My Bucket List

Leave a Reply

